Ag focus for Farrer candidates 

The NSW Farmers Bunaloo, Deniliquin and Berrigan/Jerilderie Branches have joined forces to host a Meet the Candidates forum for seat of Farrer in Deniliquin on Monday 29 April. 

NSW Farmers Executive Councillor and Barooga farmer Chris Stillard said the future of local food and fibre production will headline the agenda for the candidates. 

Mr Stillard said drought and water management issues have turned the tides in the once safe coalition seat. 

“With Farrer shaping up to be a hotly contested seat and perhaps pivotal to the formation of a working Federal government, there is significant interest in the priorities of all candidates,” Mr Stillard said. 

“The region’s economy is dependent on irrigated food and fibre production, so the forum is a great opportunity for the candidates to present their views to farmers.”

Invitations have been sent to the seven confirmed candidates — incumbent Liberal Member for Farrer Sussan Ley, Independent Kevin Mack, Clive Palmer's United Australia Party's Mike Rose, The Greens' Dean Moss, Sustainable Australia Party's Ross Hamilton, Labor's Kieran Dabsch and independant Brian Mills. 

“I strongly encourage all farmers to come along. Like the recent state election, rural regions will have a real say in this Federal election, so it’s important we have an informed view on who to vote for.”” 

The NSW Farmers Meet the Candidates forum will be held on Monday 29 April at the Deniliquin RSL Club from 6.30pm.

Date: Wednesday 24 April 2019
Media Contact:   Michael Burt  | 0428 228 988