Western Division Council

The Western Division of NSW is an economic powerhouse, generating over $1 billion in economic activity every year. Representing 42 per cent of the land area in NSW, the Western Division comprises some 32.5 million hectares and is home to about 53,000 people.

The Western Division of NSW stretches from the Murray River at Balranald in the south, to the Barwon River at Mungindi in the north, and to the South Australian border in the west. With an average annual rainfall of 200 mm in the west and 400 mm in the east, the Western Division is ideal pastoral country. The Division is largely Crown Land held under perpetual leasehold, and administered by Crown Lands - NSW Department of Planning, Industry and Environment.

The major agricultural product in the Western Division is wool; however, improved production and land management practices have permitted the diversification of enterprises on properties, allowing pastoralists more flexibility. As a result the Western Division's 1700 perpetual leaseholdings produce a surprising array of agricultural products including premium quality prime hard wheat, wool, cereals, oilseeds, cotton, lamb, mutton, beef, citrus, dairy products, rice, grapes, vegetables, goat and kangaroo meat and exotic breeds of sheep.

The Western Division Council has identified their priority areas to be:

To progress action to enhance business continuity:
Improved utilities and local services
To progress action to manage and mitigate risk:
Managing and preventing feral and invasive pests and weeds
• Roads and transport Improvements
• Improving exploration regulation and compliance


| WALGETT | Vice Chair
Callum Robinson | BOURKE | Vice Chair
Felicity McLeod | WENTWORTH | Member
Gerard Glover | BREWARRINA | Chair
Greg Rogers | BOOLIGAL | Member
Ian Edson | IVANHOE | Member
Jim Maynard | VIA MILDURA | Member
John Vagg | IVANHOE | Member
Penne Clarke | MUTAWINTJI | Member
Peter Maxwell | CONDOBOLIN | Member
Phil Holmden | BROKEN HILL | Member
Ray Scott | BALRANALD | Member

NSWF Staff

Kathy Rankin
Policy Director - Rural Affairs & Economics 
(02) 9478 1008 | [email protected]

David Tregenza
Policy Advisor
02 9478 1066 | [email protected]